Stephen Cauffman

Section Chief, Infrastructure Development and Recovery

Infrastructure Security Division, Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA)

Mr. Cauffman is the Section Chief, infrastructure Development and Recovery in the Infrastructure Security Division, Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA). In this role he oversees efforts to apply a systems-based approach to incorporating resilience measures into infrastructure planning through the development of the Infrastructure Resilience Planning Framework (IRPF) and associated tools. In addition to his CISA role, Mr. Cauffman represents the agency as an Action Officer on the Mitigation Framework Leadership Group (MitFLG) and co-chairs the development and implementation of the National Mitigation Investment Strategy. Mr. Cauffman also serves as a federal board member for the DHS Coastal Resilience Center of Excellence, the Critical Infrastructure Resilience Institute, and the Flood APEX program. Before joining CISA, Mr. Cauffman worked for the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) for 19 years. Most recently, he was a key member of the Community Resilience Group, where he led efforts to implement the Community Resilience Planning Guide to support local resilience planning efforts. Mr. Cauffman initiated resilience research at NIST in 2011 with funding from DHS S&T, to study standards gaps and wrote the program plan for NIST’s Community Resilience Program that began in 2013. Mr. Cauffman held several leadership positions at NIST including leader of the Structures Group, Deputy Chief and Acting Chief of the Materials and Structural Systems Division. He was the program manager for NIST’s study of the World Trade Center Disaster and led a 26-member team to study the performance of buildings and infrastructure during hurricanes Katrina and Rita. Mr. Cauffman’s early career involved management of research and development of composite structures for aerospace, commercial, civil engineering applications. Mr. Cauffman holds a B.S. in Physics from George Mason University.