Defense TechConnect Conference & Expo



2019 Keynote Speakers

Honorable Ellen Lord

Under Secretary of Acquisition and Sustainment, U.S. Department of Defense

Honorable James ‘Hondo’ Geurts

Assistant Secretary of the Navy (Research, Development and Acquisition), US Navy

Roberto Guerrero

Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Operational Energy, Office of the Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Installations, Environment and Energy, US Air Force

Lisa Sanders

Director of Science and Technology for Special Operations Forces, U.S. Special Operations Command (USSOCOM)

Captain Steven Lauver

USAF, Director, Technology Accelerators, AFWERX

Lawrence Pleis

Chief, Programs & Assessments Office (J49) Logistics and Engineering, U.S. Central Command

John Williams

Director of Innovation, Office of Innovation and Technology, U.S. Small Business Administration, Office of Investment and Innovation

Daryl Haegley

Principal Cyber Advisor, U.S. Secretary of Defense

Helen Greiner

Advisor, U.S. Army HQE Robotics, Autonomous Systems, and AI

Troy Warshel

Director of Operations, Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Energy

G. Nagesh Rao

Director of Business Technology Solutions (BiTS, Office of the Chief Information Officer, US Small Business Administration

William Hurley (Whurley)

Founder, Chaotic Moon Studios, Honest Dollar, and Equals: The Global Partnership for Gender Equality in the Digital Age

Barb Carson

Deputy Associate Administrator, SBA

Maria Roat


Geoff Orazem

CSO and Co Founder, Eastern Foundry

Chief Master Sgt. Christine Adamick Germain

Soprano Vocalist and the Superintendent, Singing Sergeants, The United States Air Force Band, Joint Base Anacostia-Bolling, Washington, D.C.

2019 Speakers & Challenge Panelists

Samuel Bendett

Analyst, CAAI, CNA

Rich Bendis

Founder, President and CEO, BioHealth Innovation, Inc.

Tyler Bennett

Project Manager for Deployed Medical Systems, U.S. Army Medical Materiel Development Activity

Major Jake Bowen

Program Developer, Office of Transformational Innovation, Office of Assistant Secretary of the Air Force (Acquisitions), U.S. Air Force

Joe Bryan

Principal, Muswell Orange, LLC

Jonathan Butts

Founder, QED Secure Solutions

Eric Byres

CEO, aDolus Inc., Canada

James (Jim) Caley (Col., USMC, Ret.)

Director of Operational Energy, Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy, Energy, U.S. Navy

Joseph Caravalho

President and CEO, The Henry M. Jackson Foundation for the Advancement of Military Medicine

Alf Carroll

Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) Black Belt, Raytheon

Albert Chan

Vice President, Chief of Digital Patient Experience, Sutter Health

Winston Chang

Creative Ideation Chief, Oasys International Corporation

Brad Chedister (invited)


Conrad Clyburn

CEO, MedForeSight

Lindsay D'Ambrosio Ryan

Venture Development Director, University System of Maryland

John David

Director, National Security Science & Technology, LMI

Harry Dreany

Artificial Intelligence Development Lead, U.S. Marine Corps Warfighting Lab

Colin Dunn

CEO and Founder, Fend Incorporated

Jordan Eccles

Senior Analyst, Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Operational Energy

Sherry Freeman

Former Learning Director, Defense Acquisition University

Vince Garcia

SBIR/STTR Program Manager, NOAA

Mike Gilger

CTO, Modus Operandi, Inc.

Tom Gillespie

Partner, In-Q-Tel

Jere Glover

Executive Director, Small Business Technology Council

Jim Greenwood

Founder, Greenwood Consulting Group, Inc.

Jordan Henry

Senior Technical Staff, Critical Infrastructure Systems R&D, Cyber Security, Sandia National Laboratories

Jerry Hollister

Principal Consultant, BBC Entrepreneurial Training & Consulting

Ed Jameson

CPA, Managing Partner, Jameson & Company LLC

Jeffrey Johnson

NDW ED (Acting), Naval District Washington

Monica Kang

Founder & CEO, InnovatorsBox

Carl Kutsche

Chief Technologist, Critical Infrastructure Security and Resilience, Idaho National Laboratory

Brian LaCroix

Partner, Jameson and Company

Joel Langill

Director of Industrial Cyber Security Services, AECOM

David Lattimore

Services Director, Defense and Intelligence, Carahsoft

Matt Laudon

CEO, Managing Partner & Co-Founder, TechConnect

Thomas Layne

Materials & Manufacturing Directorate, Advanced Power Technology Office (APTO), Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL)

Michael Mazzocco

President & CEO, Alytic

Scott McCain

Catalyst-Operational Energy, Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Energy

Ed Metz

Education Researcher, Technology Program Director, U.S. Department of Education

Karen Moore

Operational Energy Manager, U.S. Army Central (USARCENT)

John Moses II

Navy Battery Development Safety Office Program Manager, NAVSEA

Manny Oliver

Director, SBIR/STTR Program Office, U.S. Department of Energy

Craig Owens

Systems Engineer, Principal SBIR Program Manager, Lockheed Martin

Jennifer Perusini

Founder & CEO, Neurovation Labs, Inc.

Vladimir Popov

Director, Partnership Development Office, Frederick National Laboratory for Cancer Research

Riley Repko

Senior Advisor for Innovation, Office of the U.S. Air Force Secretary & Chief of Staff

April Richards

SBIR Program Manager, EPA

Chief Master Sgt. Jeffrey Richards

Common Support Equipment (CSE) Manager, Wright Patterson AFB,Ohio, U.S. Air Force

Jennifer Rocha

Executive Director - Corporate, Federal & Defense Programs, TechConnect

Paul E. Roege

Vice President, Strategic Initiatives, Typhoon-HIL, Inc.

Ross Roley

Energy Innovation Office Lead, U.S. Indo-Pacific Command (INDOPACOM)

Harold Sanborn

Program Manager, USACE ERDC-CERL

Brett Scharringhausen

Technology Scout for the Commander, Chief, Discovery & Integration of Science & Technology, United States Central Command (USCENTCOM)

Eric Shields

Deputy Director for Operational Energy, Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy, for Research Development & Test and Evaluation (DASN RDT&E)

Bob Smith

Director, SBIR/STTR, U.S. Navy


Produced by


© Copyright 2018 TechConnect. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
All Department of Defense speakers are subject to budget travel changes.

*Participation by any United States Federal Agency in any TechConnect activity or event does not constitute an expressed or implied endorsement of anycosponsor, donor, grantee, contractor or participant’s opinions, products, or services.